“When I grow up, I want to change the world”

This is a phrase that a lot of us have most likely heard in our lifetime, and probably have even said, but we usually don’t actually believe that it’ll happen. So, it doesn’t.

Why don’t we believe that we can be the change? What changes us between the time that we conceive the thought, to the time we actually realize how big the idea is, to make us believe that we CAN’T change the world?

Well, what?

I believe the thing that really changes our perception of the idea is our constant struggle of believing we can’t be better than the previous person. I believe this because I’ve seen it, in my life, and in others.

There may be something in us, that someone didn’t see in that person we are comparing ourselves to, that could change lives

We all compare ourselves to another person, and that comparison makes us doubt our own abilities, when we could be the difference that the world is missing. There may be something in us, that someone didn’t see in that person we are comparing ourselves to, that could change lives.

That’s right, YOU can change a life.

Not the person that (you think) writes, sings, speaks, dances, looks, [insert other characteristics here] better than you but YOU. There is a reason that you feel like you can change the world, it’s because you can, you just have to stop comparing yourself to others.

…the only thing holding that childhood dream back, was myself.

Confession: that’s the reason why I started this blog, because I finally decided to stop comparing myself and just do what I love to do: write.

Before, I felt like that little childhood dream of changing the world was too big for me to accomplish, but when I really looked at my situation, the only thing holding that childhood dream back, was myself. I was comparing myself and not realizing that others can only see change when they see something different, and that “different” could be me.

You are unique and your ideas could be the thing that this world needs.

So, what am I trying to tell you in all of this?

Be yourself and stop comparing yourself to people that you think are better than you. You are unique and your ideas could be the thing that this world needs. Be that childhood version of yourself that doesn’t compare themselves to others and just do what you love. You’ll soon realize that you could do things that you once thought were impossible and that you CAN change lives.

Even if you only change one life, one life is one step closer to changing the world.

